Sausage Party

8 Aug

Feeling of many happy memories come with eating of it – tube of meat.

Friends should enjoying together the pork. Come on!


It's a party - and your sausage is invited!

Throughout 15 years of vegetarianism-turned-pescatarianism, I had often speculated about sausage. Not just any sausage, though. A particular, nostalgic treat of German weisswurst sausage with hot mustard and sauerkraut. The kind of sausage that my father used to bring in off the grill on hot summer evenings. The kind of evenings where the doors are left open and you can hear the neighbour’s children laughing and enjoying a late run through the sprinkler, their little dog nipping at their heels. The type of summer vacation evening when you can’t remember the last day of school and haven’t even started thinking of the first day of the next school year. The type of summer evening where a piping hot, juicy pork and veal sausage arrives at the table, perfectly browned on the outside and literally bursting with flavour – the emerging white flesh speckled with aromatic herbs and ready for a dollop of hot mustard.

Clearly, it was time to give in and get porked. Time for a sausage party!

How to throw a sausage party:

  1. Determine an appropriate location for your sausage. My nostalgic sausage requirements called for a nostalgic location – my parents’ backyard.
  2. Invite your friends and their sausages. And their friends with sausages.
  3. Prepare a variety of sauces and other goodies for topping. Go beyond the standard, and lay out some sauerkraut, sliced olives, shredded cheese, hot peppers, shredded lettuce, sauteed and fresh onions, sliced pickles, a variety of mustards, and sriracha and other hot sauces. For a Japa-dog experience, I recommend also providing grated daikon radish, ponzu sauce, shredded nori, chopped green onion, japanese mayonnaise, and teriyaki or okonomiyaki sauce.
  4. Get your sausages hot over a flame. And while they’re heating up, warm up your buns with a quick visit to the oven.
  5. Insert pork into bun, and top with your flavourite combo of sauces and dressings.
  6. Get porked!


Toppings Galore

Chris' Sausage


Lucy's Sausage


It can't be all about the meat all the time. Have a salad to wash down that pork.

And how did I fare at the sausage soiree?

Longing for that nostalgic German wurst, and yet crazily curious about Japadog’s daikon oroshi dog, I opted to honour my roots and go for a half and half compromise.

Sausages: they bring countries together

Just look at the innocence in my smile only moments before I gave in and succumbed to my long-unfulfilled desire for a porking. An innocence that will never return…

And here’s how it went:

After a little trepidation, I decided to take a little lick…

Testing the waters...

and decided it was safe to give it a go.

Here goes...

and the result?

Hey - I like it!!

Pretty forking good!

The texture was even better than I had remembered! Spurred on by the success of my sausage (but afraid of a tummy-ache) I tried small bites of others’ sausage. All rather good, but my wurst was by far definitely the best.

My conclusion? No horrific stomach tremors or digestive disasters that evening led me to finish off two leftover sausages (baked into a savoury bread pudding) over the next 4 days. I have to admit that the novelty quickly wore off, and the non-weisswurst sausage just didn’t capture my tastebuds enough to warrant the slaughter required to create them. Nope, I’m not turning back to the dark side.

Well… except for possibly the occasional visit to the weiss side…

2 Responses to “Sausage Party”

  1. aya from japan August 9, 2010 at 3:41 pm #

    HI hana san !!

    how are you ? do you remenber me ?

    touday , I try send comment your brog.

    I’m happy ,

    The “nagasi soumen ” was reported in this brog.

    that time was a lot of fun !!

    thankyou for special time give me .

    see you again ! I hope you have happy time !

    • letsforking August 9, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

      Thanks, Aya-san, for the amazing party! I hope to see you again!

Leave a Reply

